Yo voy a la Republica Dominicana / I go to the Dominican Republic

Journeys are get times to reflect, gather and plan your next station, whether it be spatially or mentally.  Before my flight to Dominican Republic on last Friday, I had not been on a plane in two year!  Time flies (pun, may or may not be intended…depends on your sense of humour)!! 

The week leading up to the departure was working in extremes.  There were various powerful and creative experiences.  On the other hand, there were many challenges.  The positives:  I had a moment to spend physical time with members of my spiritual and creative families.  I deeply processed the beauty and joy in starting my own family.  Solid thoughts and plans of business had seem to arise out of nowhere/somewhere very hidden.  The negatives:  Every possible thing connected to technology and currency were going terribly wrong.  Unable to connect with certain folks before departure wasn’t too cheery.  Potentially harmful breakdowns in communication proved somewhat disturbing.  Yet, I persevered.

Image

So, I am at the airport waiting to board.  I sense of elation and peace had come over me.  I was happy to travel and begin the next phase of life.  Someone close to me said that they know my mother would be proud of me!  I took a pause to process/reflect.  I’m sure she is, at least, somewhat responsible for the provisions made.  This is why Ancestral acknowledgement is crucial.  They have more direct access to things of life than we do.  Their point-of-view is way more vast than this earthly plane.  As I digress, the flight was beautiful.  Anyone that knows me should know that i am an impatient traveler.  Ah jus wunna reach now fuh now!  The flight departed on time and arrived 35 minutes early.  Turbulence was bare minimum.  The landing…….ears popping and going through customs.  The process was pretty efficient.  

This is my first visit to DR.  It is what I expected on a surface level…everyday people, natural landscape, semi-humble living and lots of food that I can’t eat.  In my opinion, there is way too much fried food!  EVERYTHING is fried!  But, I am on a mission to help the people eat more sensibly and appreciate what they have.  It is a nice to eat fruit that may have been picked an hour prior to purchase.  During an invitation to the home of a friend of a co-worker, I had the Dominican culinary experience.  Berenjera, mangu, arroz con frijoles, arroz vegetales and pitahaya!  PITAHAYA will quickly rise to the top of ‘Favorite Fruit Charts’.  It is beautiful to look, beautiful to peel and beautiful to eat.  It is full of seeds and light to eat.  After a little research, it is in the cactus fruit family, works well with human digestion and assists in the purification of blood.  Nice, right!

Image

More written adventures to come!  Ciao

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

